Bren’s writing and movies blog

Because I have an opinion about creativity and know how to use it

Nightmare pt 26 – Questions

Posted by brenatevi on August 21, 2008

“What’s going on Boss? Why did he ask ‘How’s father?’ How come he looks so young, yet talks like an adult? Why didn’t you tell us your name? And lastly, why have you been acting so strange lately? Stop it; it’s making the troops nervous.”

Job laughed, startling Beka and Farmer.

“I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to answer your last question first. The others are tied into each other.”

He went silent for a few moments as his troops rode along the road to the capital. His eyes searched the troops until he found the pack of troops guarding Jonah, who was staring back at him through a gap.

“In case you haven’t guessed, I’m not entirely human, although the past few days I’ve been feeling all too human. Emotions that I have long suppressed have been escaping through the cracks. Even Heralds feel stress, especially half-blooded ones.”

“How old are you?”

“Don’t know. Time doesn’t mean much to us. I do know my mother is long dead. How she died, I couldn’t tell you, because memory is so reliant on time. And my father is the Demon.”

“How is that possible? So is he a Herald? I thought Heralds were servants of God.”

“Yes, he’s a Herald. And no, we aren’t servants of God, at least the way you are thinking. But he wasn’t always like this. At one time, he was good; well, as good as a Herald can be. And my mother truly loved him. But he went completely insane, and we’re not certain why. With his insanity, he declared war on everything. And my brother and I stood up to him, just for my brother to literally stab me in the back. I had to kill my brother, and wounded my father.”

“You killed your brother? But he’s right here.”

“He’s borrowing the boy’s body. His spirit is in the body, which is why he’s acting like an adult.”

“So why didn’t you tell us this earlier? I mean, how can we trust you after we find that you are related to the enemy?”

“Would you have listened to me? Do you think you would be alive if it hadn’t been for me?”

Beka said nothing.

Then the Tall One’s eyes went big, and his face went hard.

“We have to get back to that last town fast.”

“What? They won’t exactly take us back in with open arms.”

“They have no choice, because all of us are in great danger.”

Leave a Reply

 
