Bren’s writing and movies blog

Because I have an opinion about creativity and know how to use it

Respect

Posted by brenatevi on August 18, 2008

“Gary, Why doesn’t he respect me?”

“Who?”

“Him!” she screeched, pointing at Jerry.

“Kim, let that lion sleep.”

“I cannot let him treat me like this!”

“He hasn’t done anything but ignore you.”

“Exactly!”

With that, Kim stomped up to Jerry. Gary shrugged and walked the other way. If she wanted to stick her head in the lion’s mouth, that’s her decision, and he’s going to respect that.

“Why don’t you respect me?”

Jerry stopped reading, craning his head owlishly up to look at Kim. She stood above him, with her hands on her hips.

“Might want to take a seat if you want to talk to me,” was all that he said.

“Why?”

“I can see that you are wearing pink panties. Cute bow by the way.”

“See?!” she yelled. Jerry had problems telling if the blush on her cheeks was from embarrassment or her blood pressure rising, not that he really cared. He went back to reading his book as she took a seat. She crossed her legs and kind of hunched up. He wondered if she realized what her body language was saying.

“That is the sort of thing I was talking about.”

“This is the first time we’ve really talked,” he sighed. He put down his book, knowing that she was not going away without a conversation.

“Have you been avoiding me? Because I’ve been trying to talk to you.”

“I know.”

“So you have been avoiding me-“

“Kim, if you want answers, you better let me finish talking. I have been too busy to deal with you properly. I heard that you have been pigeon-holing people, and decided that Murphy will decide when you’ll talk to me. He must have been asleep because you haven’t gotten to me until now.

“Murphy?”

“Never mind.” He looked out the window and tapped his chin. He knew that his side-track wasn’t going to buy him much time.

“What are you willing to do to earn my respect?”

“I shouldn’t have to earn your respect.”

“Do you respect me?”

Kim had a puzzled look on her face. She hadn’t been expecting this track.

“My guess is no, since you came up to me in one of the most disrespectful ways possible. So what do I have to do to get your respect?”

“I don’t know.”

“Would you jump off a cliff to get my respect? Would it get your respect?”

“Hell no!”

“Ah, so we have a beginning boundary; arbitrary death does not equal respect. What about sexual favors? Would you give your body to earn my respect? Would you accept sexual favors?”

“No.”

“Very good. So we narrow it down. I could keep this up for hours, but I want you to think about this and come back to me when you have your own answers. Unless you have any more questions or demands, I would like to read some more before my lunch is over.”

Kim stood up blearily, uncertain about what happened. She went looking for Gary; he had been stacking books.

“Ah, glad to see you survived.”

“I’m not so sure. I felt like my dignity was gently chewed to death.”

“Told you so.”

Leave a Reply

 
