Bren’s writing and movies blog

Because I have an opinion about creativity and know how to use it

On writing

Posted by brenatevi on July 2, 2008

A Brain-dump refugee

I’m writing a novel, but then again, so has almost every other monkey that has banged on a keyboard. It’s like it is part of the the disease known as creative impulse: you must aspire to write a novel. Maybe it’s the terminal part of the disease; not that it kills you, but once you write one, you must keep it up until you die.

As you can tell, it’s going hard for me. I was on a roll just a week ago, and now I’m mired in the bog of lack of inspiration. Part of the reason I started this blog was to give me an outlet, an escape route from this creative cul-de-sac, hoping that in writing here, I will feel like writing there. Hope springs eternal, as the expression goes.

I think part of my problem stems from the unfortunate habit of expecting perfection of what I write at that moment, when I should just do something, even if it is something as simple as pecking at the keyboard with what few ideas that cross my mind. I kind of did this earlier (as in maybe a month ago) but stopped. Why? Ugh, your guess is as good as mine, and it’s my mind we’re talking about. Byzantine is the first word that comes to mind (ha ha ha… yah, I know.)

So, off to peck out thoughts, maybe skip forward in the novel, performing a flanking maneuver on the part that has stymied me.

Leave a Reply

 
